Smithia hirsuta


Locations of visitors to this page


Mailing list/Open Source



Indian Association for Angiosperm Taxonomy (IAAT) was established in the year 1990 under the Societies Registration Act XXI of 1860. Head Quarters of IAAT is located at Department of Botany, Calicut University, Calicut, Kerala, India.

“IAAT welcomes anyone who is interested in promoting angiosperm taxonomy”


a) Cultivate and promote the science of Angiosperm Taxonomy in India,b) Provide a common forum for Angiosperm taxonomists in India for purposeful exchange of ideas, c) Organise meetings and hold discussions periodically on scientific and academic matters, d) Encourage collaborative work among taxonomists, e) Provide a link between Angiosperm taxonomists of India with their counterparts abroad and f) Publish a journal, proceedings, transactions and such other works that will help disseminate research findings and current ideas and concepts that are relevant to Angiosperms.

Council for the Year 2012 - 2014

D Y Bhogaonkar, Amravati
Vice Presidents
K S Manilal, Calicut (H.Q)
D Narasimhan, Chennai (O.S)
M Sabu, Calicut (H.Q)
S.R. Yadav, Kolhapur (O.S)
A K Pradeep, Calicut
Alka Chaturvedi, Nagpur
A.K. Goel, Lucknow
K.G. Bhat, Udupi
V. Devi Priya, Thiruvananthapurum
P. Lakshmi Narasimhan, Kolkatta
K. Narayanan Nair, Lucknow
A.K. Pandey, New Delhi
Pushpa Patel, Khatgone
B. Ravi Prasad Rao, Anantapur
V.S. Ramachandran, Coimbatore
A.S. Reddey, Anand
N. Sasidharan, Thrissur
Past President - Ex Officio
A K Koul, Jammu
Founder President
K S Manilal, Calicut
A K Pradeep, Calicut
* For the year 2014

(IAAT is affiliated to International Association for Plant Taxonomy – IAPT)